The office of the President, Federal Republic of Somalia was established with the proclamation of the Republic of Somalia on 1st July 1960. 

The President of the Federal Republic of Somalia is elected for a term of office of four years. The term of office of an incumbent president continues until a President-elect takes office.

On assuming office, the president-elect takes the oath before the parliament; “I swear in the name of Allah that I will perform my duties honestly and in the best interest of the Nation, People, and the Religion, and that I will abide by the Constitution and the other Laws of the Country.”

The president is the head of state, and is the commander-in-chief of the Somali armed forces. 

The President of the Federal Republic of Somalia’s roles and responsibilities as stipulated in the Constitution include;

  • Appointing a Prime Minister who then forms the government.
  • Assents to draft bills approved by parliament, then the bills become laws.
  • The appointment of the chairman of the Constitutional Court, the High Court, and other judges at the Federal Government Level in accordance with the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission.
  • The appointment of Ambassadors on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

Adan Abdulle Osman

His Excellency Aden Abdulle Osman, popularly known as Aden Adde was the first President of Somalia and served from 1st  July 1960 since the time Somalia was declared a republic and led until 10th June 1967.  

He was born in December 9, 1908 in Beledweyn. 

Prior to becoming President, he was a member of Somali Youth League as well as the Chairman of the National Legislative Assembly.

H.E President Aden Abdulle died on 8th June 2007. 

Abdirashid Ali Sharmaake

His Excellency Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke, born in June 8 1919 in Harardheere, Mudug, was the first democratically elected President of Somalia in the country’s peaceful transition of power.

His Excellency President Sharmarke served from June 10, 1967.

He remained in the office until his assasination on October 15, 1969.

Before then, His Excellency President Sharmarke also served as the Prime Minister of Somalia from July 12, 1960, to June 14, 1964.

Mohamed Siad Barre

His Excellency Mohammed Siyad Barre, born in October 6 1919, was the third President of the Somali Democratic Republic.

President Barre served from October 21 1969 to January 26 1991. 

His Excellency Barre served in the Somali National Army and rose to the rank of a Major General.

His Excellency President Siad Barre died on 3rd January 1995. 

Ali Mahdi Mohammed

His Excellency Ali Mahdi Mohammed served as the fourth President of Somalia on January 26, 1991. 

He was born in 1939 in Jowhar, in the Middle Shabelle region. 

Abdiqasim Salad Hassan

His Excellency Abdiqasim Salad Hassan, born on 1st January, 1941 in the town of Galdogob, in Mudug region, was the fifth President of Somalia from 2000 to 2004.

His Excellency Abdiqasim Salad Hassan previously held several ministerial positions in former President Siyad Barre’s administration.

Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed

His Excellency Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed was the sixth President of Somalia.

H.E Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed, was born in December 15, 1934 in Galkayo, and served as the President of the Republic from October 14, 2004 to December 29 2008.

His Excellency President Abdullahi Yusuf died 23rd March 2012 aged 77. 

Shariif Sheikh Ahmed

His Excellency Shariif Sheikh Ahmed was the seventh President of Somalia.

H.E Shariif Sheikh Ahmed was born on 25th July 1964 in Mahaday town, the Middle Shabelle region..

He led the administration of the Transitional Federal Government of Somalia.

He took office on 31 January 2009 and was the last President to serve under the mandate of the Transitional Federal Government. 

He was President from 31st January, 2009 to September 10th 2012.

The end of his term marked the beginning of the Federal Government of Somalia.


Hassan Sheikh Mohamud

His Excellency Hassan Sheikh Mohamud was the eighth President of the Federal Republic of Somalia.

H.E Hassan Sheikh Mohamud was born on 25 November, 1955 in Jalalaqsi, Hiran region.

He was elected on 10th September 2012 and sworn in on 16th September 2012. His election marked the conclusion of the period of transition set out by the Djibouti process. He served until 16th February 2017.

Scroll to Top