The Federal Republic of Somalia, located in the Horn of Africa; is bordered by Ethiopia to the West, Djibouti to the Northwest, the Gulf of Aden to the North, the Indian Ocean to the East, and Kenya to the Southwest. Somali and Arabic are the official languages of Somalia. Somalia got independence in 1960 and adopted its first constitution in 1961. Somalia is a member of the African Union (Since 1963), the Organization of Islamic Cooperation-OIC (since 1969) and Arab League (since 1974).

Important Events

  • Labour Day

    1 May

  • SYL Commemoration Day

    15 May

  • Independence Day

    26 June

  • Republic Day

    1 July

  • National Day of the Flag

    12 October

“I foresee a bright future for Somalia.
I foresee Somalia matching other developed nations.
I foresee a stable and progressive government that respects everyone's rights. I foresee increased in investment and job creation for our young people."

H.E Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo

Government Roadmaps

Inclusive politics is driven by the vision for a United Somalia.

To boost public trust and foster cooperation with the citizens.

Undertake transformative change.

To build a financially stable society.

Connect with the Presidency

"We must take the lead in rebuilding our nation and this requires each one of us to contribute to those efforts for the development and prosperity of our beloved nation of Somalia.”

Scroll to Top